Draft · prices pending
How much does an MRI cost? All-in cash price table, pending hand-check
How much an MRI costs in cash is the facility fee plus the radiologist read fee, any contrast fee, and any booking fee, as the facility publishes them. The hand-check sheet has no MRI row. Cash prices are pending a hand check. This page prints no amount. Body area and contrast are part of the exam name. Whether a facility requires a clinician's order is stated on that facility's own page, not here.
What this page is comparing
Prices and logistics only. This page isn't medical advice. Ask your clinician about whether a test is right for you.
Magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) makes images with a magnetic field and radio waves. RadiologyInfo's body MRI page describes imaging of organs and soft tissue inside the body.
The area on the order is the product: a knee, a brain, an abdomen, or a whole-body protocol are different exams. This site's whole-body MRI cash page is one product. It is not a price for every MRI. This page does not say who should have an MRI. The visit logistics are on what an MRI covers.
The October 2026 hand-check sheet has no scan row. Cash prices are pending a hand check. This page prints no amount.
Cash prices
Pending
Cash prices for MRI are pending a hand check.
Current as of Oct 19, 2026.
What all-in includes for an MRI
All-in for a scan on this site is the facility fee, plus the radiologist read fee, plus any contrast fee, plus any booking fee the facility publishes. Ask the offer whether contrast, a physician order, a facility fee, or a follow-up read is included, extra, or unstated. An unstated fee stays unstated. A piece that is not on the sheet is not ranked. No row on this page is ranked. See how to compare scan prices and the methodology.
Some facilities quote one bundled price. Others bill the radiologist read separately. Ask the facility which one the quote is. No fee figure is stated on this page.
Body area and contrast
A facility may list a self-pay price by body area and by contrast option. This page does not name an area as higher or lower, and it does not say why a body area or contrast would be ordered. No MRI price is on the sheet, including a brain, a spine, a hip, or a foot.
Hospital outpatient and freestanding centers
A hospital outpatient department, a freestanding imaging center, and a marketplace can each publish a self-pay price for a named facility. This page does not compare those prices, and it does not compare quality. No facility is named, because no facility row was hand-checked.
Whole-body MRI is a separate product
A whole-body protocol is a different exam. This page has no range. The whole-body MRI cash page is that product. This page does not repeat a price, and it does not say what a whole-body scan is for.
Orders and how to book
Whether a facility requires a clinician's order, accepts an outside order, or arranges an order is a line on that facility's own page. This page does not state a general rule. Lab-test state rules are not used on imaging pages.
This page does not state a turnaround. Follow the facility's own prep instructions. This page does not restate prep steps.
- 1. If the facility requires an order, get the exam name, body area, and contrast option on that order.
- 2. Ask the facility for its self-pay price for that exact exam.
- 3. Ask whether the radiologist read is included, and whether a contrast fee or a booking fee is extra.
- 4. Book and pay on the facility's terms.
- 5. The report and images are delivered the way the facility describes, through its portal or its records process.
States
Cash MRI prices are set by the facility and the location. No self-pay MRI price was recorded. Lab-test state rules are not applied here.
Ways to ask about the price
Ask the facility for the self-pay price in writing, including the read. If you have a health plan, ask the plan what you would pay and set that figure next to the facility's cash price. This page does not say which figure is smaller, and it does not decide what a plan pays.
Check with your HSA or FSA plan administrator and the facility before you pay with account funds. See HSA, FSA, and lab tests.
This page does not list a promo code. No code was tested at checkout for this page.
How these rows were checked
Every price on this site is a row on the monthly hand-check sheet. A person checks a page in a normal browser and keeps a screenshot with the sheet. This site does not read provider sites automatically. No price on this page is a search-engine figure, an AI-overview figure, or a chat answer. The October 2026 sheet has no MRI row, so no price is listed on this page.
No facility on this page pays this site. There is no affiliate link here.
Links: methodology, editorial policy, corrections, affiliate disclosure.
Related pages
MRI cost FAQ
Is there a way to pay less for an MRI when a plan is not used?
Ask facilities for the self-pay price of the same exam, including the read, and ask about a payment plan. This page does not show an amount. It does not describe a no-cost scan.
How much does an MRI cost with a health plan?
What you pay depends on the plan, the deductible, and the facility's network status. Check with the plan. The self-pay prices are not listed yet. This page does not decide what a plan pays.
Does the body area change the MRI price?
A facility may list a price per body area and contrast option. This page has no checked row, so it does not name an area.
What is in an MRI cash price?
The facility fee, the radiologist read fee, any contrast fee, and any booking fee, when the facility publishes them. Unstated pieces stay unstated. No amount is printed here.
How much does a brain MRI cost without a health plan?
No brain MRI cash price is on the sheet. Cash prices are pending a hand check.
How much does an MRI cost in New York City without a health plan?
No New York MRI cash price is recorded on this page.